Def Leppard Leads Fan Vote 12/11/18

Def Leppard has won the coveted “fan vote” for induction into the 2019 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. reported the band snagged “547,647 votes, followed by Stevie Nicks(427,844), Todd Rundgren (365,370), The Zombies (329,052), and The Cure (264,443).”

The rest of the nominees scores are as follows: Janet Jackson, 218,581; Devo, 186,754; Roxy Music, 167,307; Rage Against The Machine, 148,208; Radiohead 140,458; John Prine, 136,746; LL Cool J, 119,657; Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, 99,724; Kraftwerk, 87,456; and MC5, 85,304.

Fans voted on the Rock Hall’s site for the nominees of their choice. The top five acts will comprise a “fan’s ballot” that will count as one of the ballots that determine the class of 2019. shed light on what exactly the “fan vote” means in the grand scheme of securing induction for the artist:

“The collective fan vote counts as a single ballot, making it one of more a thousand ballots. So while winner Def Leppard’s 547,647 fan votes is impressive, it means the British metal band’s ‘victory’ won’t guarantee induction. Although to be fair and honest, their omission would be a surprise, as the ‘official’ voters — all the living inductees and certain music industry insiders, including record label executives, publicists and a select few journalists — usually side with the fans for the first two or three spots. . . Each single fan vote for Def Leppard was worth 0.00182599 actual ballots.”

To be eligible for this year’s ballot, each nominee’s first single or album had to be released in 1993 or earlier. For the seventh consecutive year, the public had the opportunity to vote alongside the more than 800 artists, historians and music industry insiders of the Rock Hall voting body.

The top Rock Hall vote-getters will be announced on December 13th and inducted on March 29th at a ceremony at Brooklyn’ New York’s Barclays Center. HBO will broadcast a truncated version of the ceremony later in the year.

Def Leppard became eligible for induction into the Rock Hall in 2004. Should they make the final list for 2019, the current lineup of Def Leppard — along with the late-Steve Clark and original guitarist Pete Willis — will be inducted. Frontman Joe Elliott told us point blank, without Pete Willis — there’s no Def Leppard: [“Pete Willis on the very early, embryonic version of the band was very important. It was Pete that I approached in the street — knowing full well through a mutual friend that he played guitar — and I wanted to put a band together. And I just happened  to bump into him, because I missed the bus. He said to me, ‘Well, I’ve kind of got a band, we’re just looking for somebody to sing.’ And I just blurted out, ‘Oh, I’llgive it a go!’ And that was it.”] SOUNDCUE (:22 OC: . . . that was it)

Pete Willis performed on Def Leppard’s first four releases — 1979’s The Def Leppard E.P.; 1980’s On Through The Night; 1981’s High ‘n’ Dry; and 1983’s Pyromania. Willis also co-wrote such early classics as “Bringin’ On The Heartbreak” and “Photograph.”

Def Leppard performs tonight (December 11th) with Cheap Trick in Glasgow, Scotland.


As in recent years, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced the individual members of each band that will be inducted — via

  • The current lineup of Def Leppard — with the late-Steve Clark and original guitarist Pete Willis will be inducted.
  • The classic Roxy Music lineup of Bryan FerryBrian EnoAndy MackayPhil ManzaneraEddie Jobson, and Paul Thompson will be recognized, yet none of the band’s bassists will.
  • The core Kraftwerk lineup of Karl BartosWolfgang FlurRalf HutterFlorian Schneider.
  • The Cure will be represented by Robert SmithPorl Thompson, Perry BamonteMichael DempseySimon GallupLol TolhurstBoris WilliamsJason Cooper, and Roger O’Donnell.
  • Rufus featuring Chaka Khan will be represented by Dennis BelfieldAl CinerAndre Fischer, Chaka Khan, Tony MaidenNate MorganKevin MurphyRon Stockert, and Bobby Watson.