Miranda Lambert Won a Record-Breaking Eighth Top Female Vocalist Trophy at Last Night’s ACM Awards

Nobody dominated at last night’s “52nd Annual ACM Awards”, but there were some pretty big moments.  MIRANDA LAMBERT won her eighth Top Female Vocalist trophy, which broke Reba McEntire’s previous record of seven.

BROTHERS OSBORNE won Top Vocal Duo to go along with their Best New Duo/Group trophy, which was announced last month.

THOMAS RHETT won his first Top Male Vocalist award, and JASON ALDEAN won his second consecutive Entertainer of the Year award.

KEITH URBAN, walked in with seven nominations and left empty handed.  Then again he probably got some post-show comfort from his wife NICOLE KIDMAN, so, never mind.

LUKE BRYAN and DIERKS BENTLEY cohosted again and they’re getting better.  Their taped pieces were pretty funny, especially the bare-chested spoof of Australia’s “Thunder Down Under” male review.

The show’s musical opening featured each Entertainer of the Year nominee . . . plus Dierks, Luke, and JOE WALSH honoring the late Chuck Berry with a performance of “Johnny B. Goode”.

Other top performances included Miranda Lambert who proved that it doesn’t take flash to bring the house down.  She went unplugged for her song “Tin Man” and got a standing ovation.

Everyone really liked TIM MCGRAW and FAITH HILL doing “Speak to a Girl”.

Thomas Rhett and MAREN MORRIS introduced their new single, “Craving You” . . . and yeah, the future of country music is in pretty good hands with these two.

The FLORIDA GEORGIA LINE and BACKSTREET BOYS medley was exactly what we hoped it would be.  Flat-out fun.

This Year’s Academy of Country Music Award Winners:

Entertainer of the Year:  Jason Aldean

Top Male Vocalist:  Thomas Rhett

Top Female Vocalist:  Miranda Lambert

Top Vocal Group:  Little Big Town

Top Vocal Duo:  Brothers Osborne

Album of the Year:  “The Weight of These Wings”, Miranda Lambert

Song of the Year:  “Die A Happy Man”, Thomas Rhett

Single Record of the Year:  “H.O.L.Y.”, Florida Georgia Line

Video of the Year:  The CMA Awards Tribute Song,“Forever Country”

Vocal Event of the Year:  “May We All”, Florida Georgia Line and Tim McGraw